Coop Selection

Fourteen communities, fourteen cooperatives

Click on one of them below to learn more about that cooperative
Kangiqsualujjuaq Kuujjuaq Tasiujaq Aupaluk Kangirsuk Quaqtaq Kangiqsujuaq Salluit Ivujivik Akulivik Puvirnituq Inukjuak Umiujaq Kuujjuarapik

Bannière nom coop



Situated at the southern edge of the ancestral Inuit hunting grounds and at the northern edge of Cree territory, Kuujjuaraapik (the small great river) has been, since the signing of the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement, the only place in Nunavik where people of the two communities live together.

In fact, this territory encompasses two distinct municipalities, Kuujjuarapik (Inuit) and Whapmagoostui (Cree), each supplying municipal, educational, social and economic services.

Both peoples are deeply attached to their respective cultures. At the time the Federation was created, there even existed two separate cooperatives on this territory, each serving their own community.

Both were therefore invited to join the ranks of the FCNQ when it was founded, each having a representative on the federation's board of directors.

It was only later, in 1967, that the Cree cooperative decided to merge with the Inuit one in order to create a single cooperative to serve both communities.

Today, this cooperative still includes members from both communities without distinction. Whatever their origin, anyone can become a member, be elected to the local board or even represent the cooperative on FCNQ's board of directors.

Furthermore, as provided by an FCNQ amendment, the Kuujjuarapik cooperative is exceptionally represented by a person from each community sitting on the federation's board.




Retail sales

Store: 819-929-3266

Distributionof petroleum products

Cable television

Hotel service industry

Hotel: 819-929-3734

Adventure tourism

Inuit Adventures: 855-657-3319