Web Content Display Web Content Display

Fourteen communities, fourteen cooperatives

Click on one of them below to learn more about that cooperative
Kangiqsualujjuaq Kuujjuaq Tasiujaq Aupaluk Kangirsuk Quaqtaq Kangiqsujuaq Salluit Ivujivik Akulivik Puvirnituq Inukjuak Umiujaq Kuujjuarapik

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Akulivik

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Akulivik takes its name from surrounding geography. A peninsula jutting into Hudson Bay between two small bodies of water, the area evokes the shape of a kakivak, a traditional, trident-shaped spear used for fishing.

Akulivik is situated on a peninsula between two bodies of water along the Hudson Bay which resembles a "kakivak" (a trident-shaped spear used for fishing). It is a community of 515 people and it is 1900 km north of Montreal.

The Hudson's Bay Company established a trading post in Akulivik in 1922. The HBC closed the post in 1952 and the Inuit who had somewhat settled in the area moved to Puvirnituq to be near its trading post. By 1974, some of these displaced families moved back to Akulivik and built the community as we know it today.

The Akulivik Cooperative Association was established in 1977 and joined the Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec the same year. The cooperative operates a store, hotel, cable TV and petroleum distribution services.

 

Activities

Retail sales

Store: 819-496-2002

Distributionof petroleum products

Hotel service industry

Hotel: 819-496-2526

Cable television

Adventure tourism

Inuit Adventures: 855-657-3319

 

Attractions

Smith Island

Wildlife observation

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web

Quatorze communautés quatorze coopératives

Sélectionner une coopérative pour en savoir plus
Kangiqsualujjuaq Kuujjuaq Tasiujaq Aupaluk Kangirsuk Quaqtaq Kangiqsujuaq Salluit Ivujivik Akulivik Puvirnituq Inukjuak Umiujaq Kuujjuarapik

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web

Akulivik

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web

Akulivik signifie « broche centrale de kakivak » en Inuktitut et cette communauté doit son nom à la géographie des terres qui l'entourent.

Akulivik est située sur une péninsule entre deux étendues d'eau le long de la Baie d'Hudson qui ressemble à un « kakivak » (une lance en forme de trident utilisée pour la pêche). Il s'agit d'une communauté de 515 habitants et celle-ci se trouve à 1900 km de Montréal.

La Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson établit un poste de traite à Akulivik en 1922. Le CBH ferma son poste en 1952 et les Inuits qui s'étaient plus ou moins installés dans la région se déplacèrent vers Puvirnituq pour se rapprocher de son poste de traite. En 1974, certaines des familles qui avaient été déplacées retournèrent à Akulivik et construisirent la communauté telle que nous la connaissons aujourd'hui.

L'Association coopérative d'Akulivik fut fondée en 1977 et se joignit à la Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec cette même année. La coopérative s'occupe de la gestion d'un magasin d'approvisionnement, d'un hôtel, de la télévision par câble et des services de distribution de pétrole.

 

Activités

Vente au détail

Magasin: 819-496-2002

Distribution de produits pétroliers

Hôtellerie

Hôtel: 819-496-2526

Câblodistribution

Tourisme d'aventure

Aventures Inuit: 855-657-3319

 

Attractions

Smith Island

Pour sa beauté naturelle, au printemps, pour les milliers d'oies migratoires du Canada et oies blanches.

Observation de la faune