Web Content Display Web Content Display

Petroleum

As early as the 1960s, certain cooperatives were already involved in distributing petroleum products as third parties. The Hudson Bay Company, Shell and the Government of Québec owned depots across Nunavik.

Toward the end of the 1970s, the Government of Québec approached the FCNQ to discuss its possible involvement in supplying and distributing petroleum products.

Discussions continued until 1981, when the board of directors at the time passed a resolution mandating the FCNQ to enter into an agreement with the government to acquire depots and inventories that belonged to the Ministère des Travaux Publics et de l'Approvisionnement in Nunavik. On June 17, 1981, the agreement was signed between the FCNQ and the government.

The responsibility for forming and managing this new department fell to Claude Savage, who was active in feasibility studies and negotiations with the government.

Based on the success seen in the first five communities, a new mandate to obtain distribution rights in the other communities — then served by Shell — was awarded in 1984. Six of them accepted, and around the end of 1987, the FCNQ and Shell signed the formal agreement sealing the sale of Shell facilities to the FCNQ.

In 2009, Nunavik Petro Inc. came into being, to handle supply and distribution in the three last communities in Nunavik.

Today, the department continues to expand toward the south of the 55th parallel with the formation of Pétroles NaskInnuk, following an agreement entered into between the Naskapi Council and the FCNQ for the construction and operation of a depot serving the communities of Schefferville and Kawawachikamach.

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web

Pétrole

Déjà dans les années 60 certaines coopératives étaient impliquées, à titre de tiers, dans la distribution de produits pétroliers. La Hudson Bay Company, Shell et le gouvernement du Québec étant les propriétaires des différents dépôts à travers le Nunavik à cette époque.

Vers la fin des années 70, le gouvernement du Québec approcha la Fédération pour discuter de l'éventuelle implication de celle-ci dans l'approvisionnement et la distribution des produits pétroliers.

Les discussions se poursuivirent jusqu'en 1981 lorsque le conseil d'administration de l'époque adopta une résolution mandatant les la Fédération à en venir à une entente avec le gouvernement pour l'acquisition des dépôts et inventaires appartenant au Ministère des Travaux Public et de l'Approvisionnement au Nunavik. C'est le 17 juin 1981 que l'entente fut signée entre la Fédération et le Gouvernement.

La responsabilité de former et de diriger ce nouveau service incomba à Claude Savage qui avait très activement participé au processus des études de faisabilité ainsi qu'aux négociations avec le Gouvernement.

Fort du succès obtenu dans les 5 premières communautés, un nouveau mandat pour l'obtention des droits de distribution dans les autres communautés, alors desservies par Shell, fut donné en 1984. Six d'entre elle acceptèrent et vers la fin de 1987, la Fédération et Shell signaient l'entente formelle qui scellait la vente des installations de Shell à la Fédération.

En 2009. Nunavik Pétro inc. vu le jour pour devenir la responsable de l'approvisionnement et la distribution dans les trois dernières communautés au Nunavik.

Aujourd'hui, le service continu de s'étendre vers le sud du 55e parallèle avec la formation de Pétrol NaskInnuk, suite à une entente intervenue entre le conseil Naskapi et la Fédération pour la construction et l'opération du dépôt désservant les communautés de Schefferville et Kawawachikamach.

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web